What I see

People say we look good together.  That the blue in your eyes matches the white of my hair and the spring in my step reaches out to the brood in your walk. People say we try for the other, we laugh at each other, that we compliment one another.

 I don’t see that. I don’t see you and me. I don’t see us. I don’t see it.

I see you. Your outline when you escape beneath a blanket. Your shadow when the last candle flickers it’s last breath.  I see the way your eyes droop with laziness when the hours become young again. I see the sinking holes in your hands waiting to be filled and I see the crescent in your neck where I know I  fit perfectly.

Truth is, I will never see us. I will always just see you. I see you, that is all I need.

One thought on “What I see

Leave a Reply

