Video

New Lover

I can’t pretend that all is well, it’s like I’m haunted by a ghost
There are times I cannot speak your name for the catchin’ in my throat,
There are things I will not sing for the sting of sour notes.

I feel like a miser, I feel low and mean
For accusing you of stealin’ what I offered you for free.
Still it baffles the belief sometimes what thieves we lovers be.

I’ve got a new lover now, I know that she’s not mine,
I only want to hold her, I don’t need to read her mind,
And she only looks like you when she’s in a certain light.

I got a new lover now, she knows just what I need.
When I wake up in the night, she can read me back my dreams,
And she loves them, though she never needs to tell me what they mean.

I hope you’ve got a lover now, hope you’ve got somebody who
Can give you what you need like I couldn’t seem to do.
But if you’re sad and you are lonesome and you’ve got nobody true,
I’d be lying if I said that didn’t make me happy too.
I’d be lying if I said that didn’t make me happy too.

Leave a Reply

